Tuesday, December 23, 2008

I owe JM an apology. (a Christmas Vent)

So here's the deal before I left I had a debate with JM about the legitimacy of present giving a christmas. Believe it or not I believe that I may owe him an apology. I hate admitting I am wrong, perhaps it is a character flaw; but none the less, I hate it.
***
I keep on going into town and I see all this rampant scurrying about that makes life utterly dismal for every party involved. Another thing is how horrible people get about buying things. It turns them into these greedy, loathing machines who are only out to help themselves. Where is God being honored in all this mess. Where does someone stop and say "hold on, the reason we are doing this is to celebrate Jesus." No one does. It is all a game that we play and try to make it sound justified by slaping a Jesus sticker on it and saying hurray this is religion. Why should we celebrate christmas? We give to recieve and shouldn't we always be giving no matter what. Someone told me that we give to remind ourselves of the greatest gift that was given to us but when I was opening up my ipod and vast assortment of books and shirts Jesus was the last thing I was thinking about. I was thinking about what else I was getting. What was the next package going to hold? Was I going to get everything I wanted? That is vanity. Yes I love giving to others but I do not do it out of the love of the Lord that flows through me. Often, I do it out of obligation or because society dictates what I should do on a specific day.
***
If this was the Lord's day, shouldn't we be fasting and praying. Wouldn't God be happier if his children unified and came together en masse and feel before his feet. Why do we give to each other when we should give to God. I am just really frustrated with this right now. I feel like I am part of the system which dilutes christanity. I feel hatred and anger during a time were the media tells me I should be giving and cheerful. When I turn on the news, all I hear is how someone was trampled or shot for money or a simple, little toy. I hate this. If people are going to abuse this day, then why do they not just change everything so that the religious context is removed. Why do we as christians not demand something more from our congregations. We are so lax with this world that we let it transform us instead of the other way around. I can't bare it any longer. Why? The economy sucks, yes. More and more people are being laid off everyday, yes. So why don't we forgo the presents and come together in love and community and celebrate a day of life and beauty instead of murdering oursleves for some stupid gift.
***
Love during the holidays which is something I have dropped the ball on. I have focused so much and being angry and frustrated with people that I have neglected my own message of love. Thoughts and philosophies are like a double edge sword that cuts both ways. We must find something. It is our duty to be Christ to our families and friends to require nothing but give everything. I would urge you that just sitting down and praying with a loved one does more than buying them some fancy gift. Hunging your mother or father and spending time with them means more than buying them some fancy perfume or piece of clothing. Lets show this world that we are christians and that we remember this day not for Santa Claus of Rudolf but because of Christ Jesus. This was the time we celebrate Emmanuel. Yes, Jesus was not technically born on this day but none the less we have chosen to honor his birth during this time so lets do it with a humble and respectful heart. Let the love of God cost through you and let it flood through the earth from person to person till we all realize the meaning behind not just this holiday season but behind our very existence as human beings, for we are all children who need love.

No comments: